Orly – Gumdrop

30 Mar

So sorry for the lack of updates lately, I’ve been a bit busy/lazy! But I’m back to share one of my favourites…

Orly’s Gumdrop, from their Spring 2010 Sweet collection. Previously blogged about in my Skittles Shatter NOTD. It’s a clean-looking turquoise (blue-green) pastel creme. Love. It.

Such an adorable colour, perfect for spring! I spent a good amount of $$$ for it in Hong Kong, though. I’m sure if I was more resourceful I could’ve got it for less. Enh. I love the colour too much to care! I’ve been told it’s a very close sister of Chanel’s Nouvelle Vague, which would’ve put a much larger dent in my wallet.

However, there are some application issues. I can’t control this polish well…it’s a bit runny, yet goopy, which makes getting the right amount somewhat of an art. Longevity isn’t great either. This is one of those polishes I can easily peel from my nail in a solid layer (that’s actually how I often remove my polish – after a shower, where the steam makes it pretty easy to peel it off. Probably not great for my nails?).

Ah. It’s such a nice colour, I think I can forgive. My polish turnover is like two days anyway, so I’ll think of it as a blessing to be able to remove it so easily.

And look at how cute it is once you throw some polka dots at it! I did this a few months ago using the Sally Hansen Nail Art Pen in white.

Have a great hump day!

6 Responses to “Orly – Gumdrop”

  1. Sandy March 30, 2011 at 12:07 PM #

    So cute! and springy :)

  2. Alison March 30, 2011 at 2:59 PM #

    That’s totally how I remove my nail polish too! I do it every Tuesday after work because those are the days I do dishes and after my hands have been submerged in hot soapy/bleachy water, the polish loosens. I’m sure people on the skytrain have seen me and stared.

    PS. Love this shade.

  3. Nikki April 22, 2011 at 3:56 AM #

    oh my gosh, I LOVE the polka-dotted ones! So cute!

    • Gigi April 24, 2011 at 11:41 PM #

      Thanks Nikki!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m a Belieber: Nicole by OPI – My Lifesaver « the lacquer log - November 2, 2011

    […] by OPI’s My Lifesaver is a dead-ringer for the previously-blogged Gumdrop by Orly, an extremely clean-looking light/pastel turquoise creme. This colour is perfectly on […]

  2. OPI – Mermaid’s Tears « the lacquer log - November 4, 2011

    […] in the same vein as the Nicole by OPI’s My Lifesaver and Orly’s Gumdrop, but Mermaid’s Tears is like their less saturated cousin. Applied really well in two coats. […]

Leave a comment