Revlon Colorstay – Rain Forest

9 Aug

Hey strangers! I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted, but you know how it is. In these past three months, there have been more pressing things to deal with and experience than nail polish blogging – graduation and family vacations, to name  few. But I’m happy to be back now and I’m ready to share some great polish finds with you again :)

This is Revlon Colorstay’s Rain Forest (#220). I bought this gem a few months ago, but obviously haven’t gotten around to blogging it until now (sorry!). An inky, nearly-black green with tons of lighter green/golden shimmer. The shimmers are flaky and lay flat, so the polish is not glittery or gritty at all. I love these kinds of colours! Dramatic and interesting with the sparkly golden flakes, but still wearable. You’ll need two coats with this one – the first one might appear a bit sheer, but a second, slightly thicker coat will allow for sufficient opacity.

This is my first Revlon Colorstay polish and from what I’ve tried, I like it quite a bit. The brush is different from the regular Revlon line – this one is shorter, fatter, and sculpted into a rounded shape. Some find these “sculpted” brushes are easier to use, but I find them to be a hit or miss. Thankfully this one was shaped quite nicely and not splayed all over the place, so I was able to achieve a nice line at the cuticle. As for wear (note the “Colorstay” name), I didn’t find it to wear better than the regular Revlon line, nor any other average polish.

6 Responses to “Revlon Colorstay – Rain Forest”

  1. Ina August 9, 2012 at 1:20 PM #

    This is one beautiful nail polish <3

  2. Vonnegut Reference August 9, 2012 at 10:33 PM #

    You’re back!!

    China Glaze’s Glittering Garland from their last Christmas collection looks a lot like this one which is probably why I passed it over when I saw it. I wear GG all the time because just like Mariah Carey, I have no idea what “season appropriate” means.

  3. Polished Pinay August 11, 2012 at 6:22 AM #

    Glad you’re back! I hope the Colorstay line reaches Philippine shores!

  4. serena812 August 18, 2012 at 12:36 PM #

    This looks great. Would love some pointers on how to get such a perfect line at the cuticle. Mine never look that nice.

  5. Ailin January 9, 2013 at 6:37 AM #

    Hi there! In total love with your nails. Can you show or tell us how do you file them? I try and try but they come out too square. I would appreciate it a ton!! Regards!

  6. peaceloveandsmoothies September 13, 2014 at 10:26 PM #

    That is quite a statement color! I’ve never seen anything like it…wish I could find it!

Leave a Reply

