Check It Out (Literally)!

24 Mar

Last week, I was at Zellers and finally saw the Sally Hansen Salon Effects Nail Polish Strips! I was absolutely dying to try these out. There were a bunch of options, ranging from flat cremes, neons, glitters, to patterns. I settled on the houndstooth one named Check It Out because I figured I would never be able to do this pattern on my own. The other non-pattern ones I could easily paint on myself. I mean, for a $9CAD+ luxury I’d better be buying something that I can’t do for way cheaper!

How do they work?

It comes in a little box that contains 16 nail polish strips, an orangewood stick for pushing back your cuticles, and a nail file with three surfaces – one for shaping the nail, one for polishing the nail’s surface, and one to remove the excess nail polish strip. The nail polish strips come in varying sizes to fit your nail beds, and you have to pick the best fit.

Each nail polish strip has a tab at the end, and is covered with a clear protective layer – you peel that off. Then you peel off the nail polish strip from the sticker base, then stick it onto your nail bed. Smooth it over (the strips are a little flexible so you can stretch them a bit). Fold the excess over the free edge of your nail, and file the excess off. Sounds easy enough!

Yeah, yeah, I’ll show you what it looks like.

Cool, right? The strips actually come in two packets of 8, but because my nails are short, I could double-up each strip, and ended up using only one packet. I also followed up with a layer of top coat to increase wear time.

PROS:

  • The pattern looks awesome. You can’t do a (perfect-looking) houndstooth by yourself. Really. Unless you have Konad (which I don’t).
  • Pretty simple to use. I didn’t come into many problems application-wise. No bubbles, tears, etc. It helps if your hands are warm so you can effectively stretch out the strip without ripping it.
  • Easy. You literally just stick it on, smooth it out, and file off the excess. No need to worry about getting the perfect shape around your cuticle!
  • Don’t have to wait for it to dry!

CONS:

  • Picking the best nail polish strip to fit is quite tricky. The strips can be weirdly shaped. It took be FOREVER to strategically find ones that would fit my nail bed. I did a lot of trimming as well. That ate up most of my time – took me at least 30 minutes.
  • The design/print job is not of the highest quality. If you look closely, you can see that the black parts can look a bit cloudy or dirty (they came like that).
  • Expensive! One box of these, with 16 nail strips, is at least $9.00CAD. I could get a full bottle of nail polish for way less than $9.00, and get way more than just two applications out of it.

VERDICT:

These strips are great for those who have trouble applying traditional nail polish – if it gets everywhere, you can’t get a nice smooth cuticle line, or you hate waiting for it to dry, etc. For me though, I don’t have too much trouble with that and would much prefer using cheaper traditional nail polish. However, since I can’t do such a complex pattern on my own, and I don’t have Konad, I would buy these (or another pattern) again!

2 Responses to “Check It Out (Literally)!”

  1. Alison March 24, 2011 at 2:31 PM #

    Haha, such a fitting name for this post! I feel like if I looked at these nails really close for a really long time, you could hypnotize me.

  2. piinnkkii January 19, 2013 at 9:16 AM #

    I use Konad paints with MASH stamp plates and it is pretty awesome. More difficult than a strip like you used but they are multi-use and I love doing them on my daughters nails. It’s like magic to her!

Leave a Reply

