American Apparel – The Valley

3 May

I love American Apparel polishes. They come in all kinds of beautiful colours – plenty of work-appropriate neutrals, but also lots of quirky brights. I’ve tried around seven of them, and all of them have stellar formulas that go on nearly opaque in just one coat. Best of all, the main line consists of all creme finish polishes (my favourite finish)!

American Apparel’s The Valley is a flat light-medium robin egg blue creme, and is no different from the other AA polishes. Gorgeous formula, easy application, exceptional finish and colour. The photo makes it look like it leans slightly turquoise, but I would say it’s a true blue. It’s bright, but not in-your-face obnoxious.

Some people complain that the AA formula is a touch on the thick side, but as long as you’re careful with the brush by removing all of the excess polish, including the polish collecting on the stem of the brush (there is a lot on there), you’ll be fine. A few drops of nail polish thinner should also help.

10 Responses to “American Apparel – The Valley”

  1. sukipooki May 3, 2012 at 2:29 PM #

    I’ve been really curious about these polishes so thanks for reviewing it!

    • Gigi May 9, 2012 at 12:27 AM #

      No problem. I love AA polishes! Will do more in the future :)

  2. kat May 5, 2012 at 11:50 AM #

    beautiful shade of blue!! love it!

    • Gigi May 9, 2012 at 12:27 AM #

      I love it too! :)

  3. Benita May 5, 2012 at 3:28 PM #

    Love this shade of blue! Your application looks so perfect too. You should do a tutorial on how you apply and clean up your polish to make it look so perfect for sloppy people like me.

    • Gigi May 9, 2012 at 12:27 AM #

      Thank you! I intend to make a tutorial sometime :)

  4. Kelli Nicole May 6, 2012 at 6:39 AM #

    I LOVE this blue!!!

    • Gigi May 9, 2012 at 12:26 AM #

      So do I! It’s so lovely :)

  5. Shelby July 31, 2012 at 10:28 PM #

    I want this color SO badly! I’m considering buying it asap :)

    • Gigi August 1, 2012 at 12:09 AM #

      Do it! It’s one of the two colours I brought with me on my month-long vacation, so you know it’s awesome! :)

Leave a Reply

