Illamasqua – Jo’mina

30 Apr

Sorry for the hiatus! Finals season hit and I barely found time to put on a fresh coat of polish, let alone photograph and blog about it. I’m back now to share a polish I bought in celebration of finishing all my undergrad exams!

Illasmaqua’s Jo’mina. This is a colour you have to see in real life to appreciate – I haven’t seen anything like this by another brand. It’s a very bright warm purple creme. It’s nearly neon and has the quality of purple highlighter. In fact, I held up my fingers to a purple highlighter I have and it is the exact same colour. Jo’mina is very opaque (i.e. not at all a jelly, unlike American Apparel’s Neon Violet – review here – full disclosure though, Neon Violet is a completely different colour) and goes on near-flawlessly in one coat. I used two coats, mostly out of habit, and to go over some tiny patchy bits.

I salivate over this. I can’t stop looking at my fingers. I’m constantly surprised by how gosh darn BRIGHT this is. I mean, as bright as it can get for a light-medium purple creme. You need this. Worth the $18CAD, I would say, as this is a colour I see myself going back to time and time again, especially for the warmer months.

On a somewhat unrelated note, who else is peeved that we Vancouverites only get Illamasqua nail varnishes here? I’m waiting with bated breath for the full makeup range to arrive at some point. Fingers crossed!

10 Responses to “Illamasqua – Jo’mina”

  1. Lacquercarefactor (@LacquerCF) April 30, 2012 at 8:44 PM #

    Oh yah! I ordered this one and a number of others from their website last week. Now I’ve read your review am even more excited to be getting them. Apparently Illamasqua have stores in a few of the very large department stores in Sydney and Melbourne so next time I’m in Sydney I’ll definitely go have a look. Much prefer buying polish in person than over the net but unfortunately the net offers such a wider variety than what’s available to me in stores. And well done finishing your exams too!

    • Gigi May 9, 2012 at 12:29 AM #

      I love the Illamasqua so much and wish I could get hold of the makeup easier :( Tell me how your polishes go! I’m excited to try more of their colours for sure. And thanks! :)

  2. kat May 1, 2012 at 11:03 PM #

    OH WOW! When I saw this color, it made me smile! Such a pretty happy fun color! So perfect for Spring/Summer! In fact, after seeing this you make me wanna take off my orange polish and put on a purple one lol. Is this color similar to OPI Do You Lilac It? Looks like a dupe

    • Gigi May 9, 2012 at 12:28 AM #

      Thanks, it makes me have the same reaction too :) I don’t have Do You Lilac It but I seriously doubt it’s a dupe. Jo’mina is unlike anything I’ve seen before – I’d describe it as an electric pastel lilac. It’s just so bright! I don’t think OPI makes anything that compares!

  3. Anisha May 2, 2012 at 12:07 PM #

    Can you nails get any more perfect?

    • Gigi May 9, 2012 at 12:27 AM #

      Thanks Anisha!

  4. Amelia June 7, 2012 at 6:12 PM #

    Hi there! I just stumbled across your blog from pinterest and absolutely love it. Your nails are divine. I was wondering if you mind if I use this image (credited of course!) for my blog http://www.realgirlbeauty.wordpress.com?
    Amelia :) xxx

    • Gigi June 7, 2012 at 6:17 PM #

      Thanks Amelia! Of course you can use my image, and I appreciate that you asked me first :) I just checked out your blog briefly and I love it! Keep up the good work!

      • Amelia June 7, 2012 at 6:21 PM #

        Ohhh thanks so much :) Looking forward to reading more of your beautiful posts! I have nail-envy!

  5. Tamara March 5, 2015 at 8:36 PM #

    Where do I buy this? :)

Leave a Reply

