Neutral Ombre!

8 Mar

You know you have too much a lot of nail polish when you can do a near-perfect ombre manicure without having to mix any colours at all. Thankfully, I did have to mix two colours for this mani – definitive proof that I, in fact, do not have a problem…maybe.

  • Thumb – OPI’s You Don’t Know Jacques (possibly my favourite taupe)
  • Index – Leighton Denny’s Supermodel (not available in North America as far as I know. Got it for free in an issue of Cosmo UK, I think, sometime in the summer. I’ve always wanted to try the brand so I was very excited about this freebie. Why don’t US magazines give freebies like the UK ones do?!)
  • Middle – OPI’s Tickle My France-y (possibly my favourite neutral)
  • Ring – 1 part OPI’s Tickle My France-y, and 1 part each of two Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure colours in Wet Clay and Lavender Cloud
  • Pinky – 1 part Wet Clay and 1 part Lavender Cloud

Mixing the colours wasn’t actually that difficult. I used a piece of plastic packaging as my palette to mix colours on. I put a generous drop of each polish colour onto the plastic, and used the brush from one of the actual bottles to mix and apply. Make sure to mix enough for two fingers, and apply it to the same finger on both hands before proceeding to the next one – you don’t know want your unique polish colour to sit on the plastic for too long and dry up!

As for those worried about using a brush from an existing bottle, I wouldn’t be too concerned about it. The colours you’ll mix are likely to be similar, so any “tainting” of the original colour will be marginal.

An easy and fun way to expand your mani “repertoire” :)

16 Responses to “Neutral Ombre!”

  1. robin March 8, 2012 at 11:06 AM #

    Absolutely amazing….and inspiring!!!! Great job!

    • Gigi March 8, 2012 at 11:44 AM #

      Thanks Robin!

  2. KarenD March 8, 2012 at 11:43 AM #

    Nicely done! I do have a “problem” I think–every time I’ve done an ombre, I’ve not had to mix a thing. :)

    • Gigi March 8, 2012 at 11:44 AM #

      Haha! I think it’s the most fortunate kind of “problem” :p

  3. Andrea March 8, 2012 at 1:04 PM #

    That is just gorgeous!

    • Gigi March 20, 2012 at 11:33 AM #

      Thank you :)

  4. Rachel March 8, 2012 at 6:52 PM #

    Ahh I love it Gigi!!

    • Gigi March 20, 2012 at 11:32 AM #

      Thanks Rachel!

  5. Cheryl Cheryl March 9, 2012 at 10:57 AM #

    Gorgeous! one of the best ombre nails i think I’ve ever seen!

    • Gigi March 20, 2012 at 11:31 AM #

      Thank you so much!

  6. thepolishobsession March 21, 2012 at 6:28 PM #

    so so so in love with this (&anything ombre, really)! super pretty.

  7. EA March 27, 2012 at 1:03 PM #

    Gorgeous! I’d love to try this! If we can’t get a hold of the color on your index finger what would you recommend using?

    • Gigi April 4, 2012 at 3:25 PM #

      I’m not sure (I don’t have a dupe on me) but what you could do is just mix the thumb colour with the middle finger colour to get your index! I’ll look out for dupes as well :)

  8. Jaime September 6, 2012 at 12:10 AM #

    How many coats did you have to do?

  9. NachtSchaden July 12, 2016 at 8:54 PM #

    You can achieve your ring color with OPI’s Berlin there, done that, try OPI’s Samoan Sand on your ring finger, and then a layer of french white with a second coat of Samoan sand over that. I’ve had really good results with that combination.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Neutral Ombre - Nail Trend - Covered in Nude - October 16, 2015

    […] a completely different look paint each nail on one hand a different hue of nude. This is a great way to have done at a salon so […]

Leave a Reply

