Polish for Business Nerds: Essie – A Crewed Interest

21 Feb

I want to be the person who names nail polish for a living. It’s so fun! This one has a BUSINESS PUN in it. As an aspiring accountant, there was no doubt that I would own this.

Essie’s A Crewed Interest, from the Spring 2012 “Navigate Her” collection (ha, get it? Accrued interest?)! It’s a light, saturated peach pastel creme. Let me just get one thing clear: I bought this mostly because of the name. I’m not usually drawn to pastels.

But I do love how the colour looks on me! Gorgeous, and makes my hands look extremely tan. The colour really pops and is incredibly pretty for spring.

I had some formula issues, as it’s rather chalky and streaky – I needed to apply three coats very gingerly. I feel like the extra effort was worth it, though. I mean, the name alone! Yes, I am obviously quite easily amused.

7 Responses to “Polish for Business Nerds: Essie – A Crewed Interest”

  1. sukipooki February 21, 2012 at 7:39 PM #

    Omg this is so nice! I’m also not a huge fan of Essie’s formula but this colour is to die for, thanks so much for sharing!

    • Gigi March 8, 2012 at 11:45 AM #

      Essie formula is sometimes a hit or miss but when it’s a hit, it’s gorgeous! I love this colour so much :)

  2. Jodi Michael Horner March 16, 2012 at 9:50 PM #

    Thank you for the review on the color–I just tried it and I always, ALwAYS have a hard time with applying polish. I don’t know why I can’t seem to get the hang of it, I’ve worked at it. Anyway, this was “chalky” as you say, and the notion of three very think coats seemed like the way to do it. But not being an expert I didn’t know if that was even really an option. You proved it is. Your photos are great! How long do your manicures last?

    • Gigi March 20, 2012 at 11:31 AM #

      I generally use 2 coats for every polish, even if it’s decently pigmented. 3 coats are reserved for streakier finishes, but honestly, some polishes are so terrible that even 4 coats won’t do it. So yes, it’s a good tip! :) Glad it helped you out.

      My manicures usually last at least a week. Of course, this depends on what I’m doing. But on a regular week where I’m just going to school and have nothing out of the ordinary (e.g. rock climbing), it’ll last for maybe over a week. However, I’m way more likely to change my polish every 2 or 3 days than wait until my manicure’s worn out!

  3. Zhanna May 31, 2012 at 5:00 PM #

    Love it!!!

  4. Polished Pinay September 1, 2012 at 1:22 AM #

    I would just like to let you know that a certain person posted this picture and passed it off as hers. I really like your blog and feel bad about stealing other people’s work. Here’s the link http://pupe.ameba.jp/item/Tw5KOSebcvFQ/XqnYY1kmVqtJ/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chanel – June « the lacquer log - March 20, 2012

    […] to these kinds of pale peachy colours ever since using Essie’s A Crewed Interest (review here). This one is more of a pale orange, with the slightest drop of pink in there. Reminds me of a […]

Leave a Reply

