Barielle – Falling Star

24 Jan

This one’s a weird one, guys.

Barielle’s Falling Star. Got this at Winners last week, the only place that seems to sell Barielle in Vancouver. This is definitely a polish that I haven’t seen before – mid-toned, slightly dusty blue creme base, packed with medium-sized bits of copper glitter. Wha? A combination that I’ve  never really thought of. Props for originality, Barielle!

Uniqueness aside, I’m debating whether this colour combination really works for me. I feel like the copper clashes with the blue, making the glitter look dull at certain angles. My nails sort of looked like they were flecked with little piece of…dirt? Hmm. Not sure I’m sold on this.

Of course, since this is full of glitter, removal was a horrendous process. It wasn’t even as bad as it could be – I peeled off most of it in the shower (which is not a good habit, but if you’re desperate to remove glitter polishes easily…give it a shot. Something about the steam makes the polish easy to lift from the nail). I couldn’t quite get my pinky finger, so I went with good ol’ nail polish remover route – ugh! Blue base comes off easily, leaving behind an armour of copper glitter that you must scrub furiously with your cotton pad. Glitters…it’s a love/hate relationship.

11 Responses to “Barielle – Falling Star”

  1. Ina January 24, 2012 at 11:15 AM #

    It’s weird but I like it :)

  2. Theo (@theomanic) January 24, 2012 at 12:20 PM #

    Don’t you use the tinfoil method? Ever since I started removing glitter that way, I cannot go back. :D

    • Gigi February 13, 2012 at 11:23 PM #

      Gonna try the method again. So worth it for pretty glitter polishes!

  3. Heather January 24, 2012 at 2:23 PM #

    The Foil Method works well for removing glittery polish. You soak a cotton ball in acetone and place it on your nail, wrap tin foil around your entire finger to seal it all up for 5 minutes give or take. As you pull off the foil & cotton ball apply a little pressure and the glitter should come off. Time consuming, but it works.

    • Gigi February 13, 2012 at 11:22 PM #

      I’ve tried it before and it didn’t work that great on me :( Maybe I’m doing it wrong or something, haha. Will try again!

  4. oread January 24, 2012 at 5:41 PM #

    I also bought this recently at Winners, I found the formula a bit thick, but I really love the colour/ glitter combo.

    • Gigi February 13, 2012 at 11:22 PM #

      It’s definitely unique, I’ll give it that!

  5. Nerd Girl January 25, 2012 at 6:07 AM #

    Ditto on the foil removal method. I had three coats of China Glaze’s Some Like It Haute on my toes – removal was painless using the foil. I wrapped all ten toes at once and it was marvelously easy. I’ll never not use the foil method.

    Not sure about that color combo. Did it grow on you?

    • Gigi February 13, 2012 at 11:21 PM #

      I tried the foil method but bleh, I ended up getting polish remover all over my hands and it made the job marginally better. Maybe I’m doing it wrong! I shall try again, it’s worth it if it means I can use glitters more :)

      It didn’t really grow on me. Took it off within a few days and I’m unlikely to wear it again, haha!

  6. Julie April 22, 2012 at 2:20 PM #

    WOW. I absolutely love this polish. I think it’s so beautiful and unique!

    • Gigi May 9, 2012 at 12:30 AM #

      It is certainly very unique, I’ll give it that! :)

Leave a Reply

