Essie – Power Clutch

19 Oct

Don’t feel like writing a preamble today, so…I won’t :)

Essie Power Clutch is from their Fall 2011 collection “Brand New Bag”. I bought this thinking I needed a true slate gray creme polish to add to my collection. I was…wrong?

The official shade description calls this a “striking, deep gray-green”. I didn’t believe the description when I bought the colour. In the store, it was clearly gray. But upon closer inspection, this is certainly a gray that leans a bit to the green side. Can’t see it? It’s hard to tell in the photo, but this is definitely not a blue gray or even a true gray. Quite a unique colour, I’d say! The green doesn’t come out to say hello all the time, but when it does, it’s a pleasant surprise.

As for application, I don’t know if I bought an old bottle or what, but it was the tiniest bit too thick. The brush wasn’t able to spread itself easily and I had just had an all-round nightmare trying to apply this the first time around. A few drops of polish thinner did the trick, though, and it applied smoothly and beautifully.

4 Responses to “Essie – Power Clutch”

  1. robin October 19, 2011 at 12:01 PM #

    I have this on my nails right now and absolutely saw the green come through. A few days later I put a glow in the dark top coat on to see if it really worked and made it a more muted green grey. P.s. the top coat Fantasy Makers Glow in the dark really works! :)

    I do really like the Power Clutch on its own!! :)

    • Gigi October 26, 2011 at 11:21 PM #

      Oooo glow in the dark top coat, I’ve always wanted to try that. That sounds really cool and so appropriate for Halloween! Yes it’s such a pretty colour on its own, love the green undertone.

  2. Polished Pinay August 7, 2012 at 1:33 AM #

    I never knew Power Clutch had a green lean! Beautiful swatch!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gris | wondercoses - October 12, 2012

    […] The lacquer log […]

Leave a Reply

