Layering 101: Essie – Kisses and Bises

30 Jun

A few weeks ago, I scored a beautiful new Essie polish from Shoppers Drug Mart for $2.99! Keep an eye out for SDM’s clearance racks, as sometimes there are gems lurking.

The shade I snagged is Essie’s Kisses and Bises, from the Spring 2011 collection French Affair. I was actually considering buying this at full price, because the shimmers in it are beautiful. I can’t pinpoint what colour exactly, but I would describe it as pink and gold, maybe a dash of copper? The shimmer is extremely fine and suspended in a milky off-white base colour.

On its on, Kisses and Bises won’t add much colour to your nails, but it is a brilliant layering polish. I’ve shown it layered over OPI Do You Think I’m Tex-y?. As you can see, it adds such a beautiful dimension to the jelly colour underneath. There are some visible brush strokes, but it’s not noticeable at all.

I’ve also tried Kisses and Bises over a black polish, and it looks even more phenomenal. The wicked pink/gold shimmer really alters the base black colour into something very unique indeed. I will post this combination when I get a chance!

4 Responses to “Layering 101: Essie – Kisses and Bises”

  1. beachgal July 2, 2011 at 6:22 AM #

    This is one of my all time fav layering polishes…and typically I am lazy and don’t do layering…but with this one, I think of it like my first coat of clear topper. It dries so fast, it really does not seem to twist me all around. And of course the effects are amazing. This is a new one for me. I have this OPI TX collection shade and never thought of topping it with K & B – but now I surely will be doing that! Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Gigi July 6, 2011 at 4:38 PM #

      I totally agree. It’s shiny enough to use without a top coat, but makes the colour underneath look amazing! You’re welcome :)

  2. Rie July 6, 2011 at 2:56 AM #

    I love this combination! I’ve been meaning to buy Kisses and Bises for ages and just haven’t gotten around to it. It looks lovely combined with Do You Think I’m Tex-y. Also, I love your nail shape!

    • Gigi July 6, 2011 at 4:39 PM #

      It makes the jelly colour look so much more interesting! Love it. And thank you very much!

Leave a Reply

