OPI Pirates of the Caribbean – Stranger Tides

23 May

I saw the display for the OPI Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides collection ages ago, and thought the collection was a bit…strange. If you do a quick Google of it, you’ll notice that it consists of several pastel shades and another shatter polish (Silver Shatter–I actually really want this, as it looks amazing over the pastel shades). Doesn’t really scream Pirates of the Caribbean to me. Then again, I always thought the collaborations with movie franchises somewhat odd. But no matter. I purchase nail polishes for the colour and not so much its affiliation with a movie or celebrity (coughJustinBiebercough. More on this later :p).

I ended up getting OPI Stranger Tides, which is a muted, pale grayish-green creme. It looks sort of ugly in the bottle, but I love it on the nails. Quite a unique green colour if I do say so myself. I don’t own anything like it. The closest colour I can think of is Essie’s Sew Psyched, which is several shades darker with subtle white shimmer running throughout. I love that, despite being an uncommon polish colour, Stranger Tides is still very wearable.

This colour also had a great formula and needed only two coats to reach full opacity. No issues with streaking here. And it goes without saying, but I love OPI ProWide brushes. Makes applying nail polish such a breeze, seriously.

6 Responses to “OPI Pirates of the Caribbean – Stranger Tides”

  1. Wongtouski May 23, 2011 at 11:13 AM #

    OMG Look at that color!

    I SO WANT

    • Gigi May 23, 2011 at 11:42 AM #

      Stop being obnoxious.

  2. robin May 23, 2011 at 11:54 AM #

    when i saw the photo, i thought, “yuck” but after i looked at it for a few seconds, i really like it! its very unique in a very good way! nice find gigi! :)

    • Gigi May 25, 2011 at 1:43 AM #

      Yeah if you don’t think of it as an icky grey-ish green colour and more like a light pistachio, it suddenly looks delicious :) I’ve fallen in love!

  3. caroline May 23, 2011 at 2:39 PM #

    that is really pretty. muted but still exuding color. I too didn’t think the collection suited pirates of the carribean. funny though.

    • Gigi May 25, 2011 at 1:44 AM #

      Haha yeah the collection’s totally not fitting with the movie, but eh. The colours were muted, yet very beautiful!

Leave a Reply

