Essie – Smooth Sailing

16 May

I need an intervention. I need to stop buying nail polish. Someone stop me! This week alone I’ve bought at least six new colours. This has officially become a problem. Uh, well at least I have new material for the blog?

I couldn’t say no to this :( Essie’s Smooth Sailing, that is (which is part of Essie’s Summer 2011 collection “Color Me Braziliant”).

Smooth Sailing is a lavender/periwinkle blue with tiny flakes of glass-fleck glitter (again, the type that seems to sit on the surface on the nail). Officially, this is described as a “a breezy lavender blue with a reflection of pearl”. Hmm. I’m not sure this is a “pearl” finish type of shimmer; it definitely uses visible glitter suspended in the polish as opposed to a pearly shimmer that’s only visible in the sunlight. Application was perfect in two coats. Absolutely no complaints here!

I’m beginning to really love glass-fleck polishes. The glitter seems to catch the light no matter how dimly lit the room is, which makes them perfect polishes for the spring and summer sun. :)

EDIT// Commenter Robin asks if the base colour of this is similar at all to previously blogged Joe Fresh Iris, and my conclusion is that it’s not. Smooth Sailing is much more blue and Iris is more purple. Quick bottle photo as a comparison:

Hope that helps you out, Robin! :)

10 Responses to “Essie – Smooth Sailing”

  1. robin May 16, 2011 at 11:16 AM #

    how does the base lavender color compare to the color compare with Joe Fresh in Iris that you posted? I love that color and cannot get it in the states!

    • Gigi May 16, 2011 at 11:19 PM #

      It’s quite a bit different. Joe Fresh Iris is considerably more purple than Essie Smooth Sailing. I took a photo for you comparing the two bottles, which I’ve added to this post :)

    • Gigi May 16, 2011 at 11:22 PM #

      Oh and also, sorry that you can’t find it in US! If I ever find a polish that compares to Joe Fresh Iris, I’ll let you know in a new blog post! :)

  2. caroline May 16, 2011 at 11:35 PM #

    that is one really pretty nail polish. I love how the the sparkles are getting subtler.. no more huge glitter chunks!

    • Gigi May 23, 2011 at 12:04 AM #

      I agree! Sometimes I want an obnoxious glitter, depending on the occasion of course. But I’m with you on the transition to subtle shimmers and sparkles that still dance in the light and look pretty without looking juvenile, or being a pain to remove! :)

  3. robin May 17, 2011 at 10:24 AM #

    that totally helps out!!! I can see the difference side by side but trying to go back and forth between posts had me confused!!! Thank you so much! Someday I hope to find a dupe for Iris!!! :)

    • Gigi May 23, 2011 at 12:03 AM #

      No problem! I hope you do! And of course I’ll let you know if I find a dupe myself :)

  4. sukipooki May 18, 2011 at 12:12 AM #

    o0o0o nice colour! I have to go check out Essie’s new collection! Do you think it’d be available at Shoppers?

    • Gigi May 23, 2011 at 12:02 AM #

      Yes, it should be! I actually got this at Shoppers :)

  5. KHOL June 14, 2011 at 8:25 AM #

    Can you do the comparison of Essie Smooth Sailing Zoya Caitlin Essie Lapis of Luxury and Essie Coat Azure please any of them would be fine. I’m thinking if i should get both Coat Azure and Smooth Sailing because I feel that they look quite similar to Caitlin and Lapis of Luxury minus the shimmery vibe which is not a big deal for me I just like the color itself tht’s all

    Thxx:)

Leave a Reply

