Is it summer yet? Essie – Fiesta

14 Apr

Sorry everyone, school has seriously been draining all the hours from my day. I have had absolutely no time to update this blog! My polish even – get ready for it – chipped because I hadn’t changed my polish for over a week (it was Butter London All Hail the Queen by the way, and considering my total lack of regard for my manicure during that week, I’d say it held up pretty well)! First world troubles, I’m telling ya.

The good thing about having two exams on the first day of exams means that I now only have one more exam to write, and I finish them all pretty early! Woohoo! Still, I can’t help but think of summer, and how perfect this polish would be for lazing around on the beach. And this is after it started raining and slushing where I live. I think there was even thunder and lightning! Gosh.

Okay, so Essie’s Fiesta is not the most unique polish on the block. It’s your run-of-the-mill hot pink, a little bit shocking, but not neon. I would say it’s more of a cool pink. Formula was good, but it’s one of those weird ones that Essie does that is a creme, but acts a bit like a petulant jelly. Does that make sense? What I mean is that it goes on a bit weirdly streaky, but not even in the sense that the application is uneven, but that some parts dry darker than others? Eh. I’m not getting anywhere with that description. But it’s nothing three coats doesn’t fix.

So yeah, it’s not unique amongst the other colours available on the market, but I only own one hot pink (and I intend to keep it that way), and I’m thinking that I made the right decision with this one. Now if only the weather will cooperate…

6 Responses to “Is it summer yet? Essie – Fiesta”

  1. sukipooki April 15, 2011 at 1:44 PM #

    I know what you mean about spring/summer being late. I really hope that they do hurry, Im sick of this rain and wind! Though it is sunny today so Im extremely grateful for that even if Im cooped inside my room studying for my finally tmr, on a Saturday morning! Seriously, those should not be allowed! That colour is gorgeous and it excites me because I just bought my first ever Essie polish the other day in Fiji!

    • Gigi April 21, 2011 at 1:12 AM #

      Aw that sucks! I hope your final went well though! I just finished them all myself so I’m pretty excited to get summer going (and the weather too, heh). Oh Fiji, I think I’ve seen that before…is that a sheer pink?

  2. Alison April 15, 2011 at 4:56 PM #

    Perfect shade of pink! I’ve had such a hard time figuring out which pinks will work for me because most of them seem like they’d be way too neon for my skin tone. Also love the name. I’d like a Fiesta right about now.

    • Gigi April 21, 2011 at 1:13 AM #

      Yeah pinks are definitely tricky. I would want a true, bright one that doesn’t look pastel nor neon. I think this one fits the bill pretty well though. AND YES can we please throw ourselves a fiesta one day?

  3. Jenn April 17, 2011 at 12:16 PM #

    Ooooh, pretty! Too bad it’s still snowing here in Toronto!

    • Gigi April 21, 2011 at 1:14 AM #

      Haha! But come summertime and you’ll have to deal with the sweltering heat, too! Sometimes I’m pretty grateful for living in rainy ol’ Vancouver. :p

Leave a Reply

