The one that started it all: Chanel Paradoxal

21 Mar

And by “started it all”, I mean it’s the one that confirmed that I officially had a problem hobby.

Chanel Paradoxal is already a Chanel classic in its own right, right up there with Particulière, Black Satin, and Blue Satin. This is the first polish release for which I waited with bated breath. And then actively sought after. I even tried to get my brother to buy this for me in France (he couldn’t find it. Still don’t really understand how French Chanel beauty stores drop the ball on new releases, but whatevs). After weeks of lusting after it, I finally found it in the form of two bottles of Paradoxal I accidentally received for my birthday (one from my mom, one from my aunt). Well, we overshot the goal a bit but at least I got there!

Holy effing crap do I ever love Paradoxal. Am I hyping this up too much? I hope not! This polish is definitely not as flashy as the bottle suggests—the smoky dark purple-y gray creme base dominates, making the polish appear as a creme from further away. Almost none of that intense bright violet shimmer would appear on the nail.

But it’s still so freaking pretty. You don’t always crazy in-your-face shimmer for a polish release to do its job. Elegant, yet edgy. Conservative, yet has a hidden bit of excitement in the shimmer. The bright violet shimmer keeps Paradoxal from being a boring flat taupe-y purple gray that’s been reimagined hundreds of times. Especially if you look at your nails under sunlight or incandescent light, the shimmer jumps out at you from the centre of the nail.

Formula? Great. Applies like buttah. Two coats and you’re golden. Brush – like it a lot! It’s a traditional brush (which I usually find just average), but strangely, I found I could control this one very easily. Although that could be due to its exceptional consistency.

Now, my point of contention…Chanel polishes are not cheap, obviously. Can’t remember the exact price but it’s gotta be at least $20CAD a pop. That’s not even the problem (after all, I didn’t pay for it, hahaha). Chanel polishes are just not ideal in the longevity department. I haven’t actually had this chip on me, but it’s because I don’t wear the same colour for extended periods of time. But on the second day of wear, you can already notice very noticeable tipwear, and it really gets on my nerves. Feh.

Sigh. I guess nothing truly is perfect. For the sophistication of the colour alone, though, it instantly made it onto my all-time favourites list!

8 Responses to “The one that started it all: Chanel Paradoxal”

  1. Jenn March 21, 2011 at 2:59 PM #

    Pretty!!! I’m eyeing Graphite and Black Pearl right now, and I think they may ease me into the world of Chanel polishes lol… this one could make that list too!

  2. Alison March 21, 2011 at 6:00 PM #

    LOVE.

  3. caroline March 24, 2011 at 3:02 AM #

    the color is absolutely beautiful. and that gleam!!! by the way, your post on the glittery butter nail polish sold it for me, now just need to know where they sell it.

  4. cokhoonut April 14, 2011 at 2:29 PM #

    OMGosh!!! I want itttt!! where did your mom/aunt manage to find it? I don’t care if I have to pay a premium for shipping, it’s gorgeous!! Elegant, sophisticated, with the additional sparkle that makes it young.

    • Gigi April 14, 2011 at 3:00 PM #

      Have you checked out the Chanel counters here? If I’m not mistaken, Paradoxal should be a permanent polish. My mom and aunt both bought it at a Chanel beauty store/counter in Hong Kong. So unless Vancouver is THAT far behind, it should be here! :)

      • Rachee April 18, 2011 at 10:10 PM #

        I saw it at Murale, along with Black Pearl :)

      • Gigi April 21, 2011 at 1:14 AM #

        Thanks Rachel! Black Pearl, is that nice in person? I’ve been unimpressed with the photos. There’s a new one coming out called Graphite, I think, and I think I would like that one better :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Maybelline Express Finish – Cool Couture « the lacquer log - January 16, 2012

    […] of “hidden” blue-teal shimmer running throughout. This is the gray/teal sister of Chanel’s Paradoxal, which has a smokey dark gray-purple base with purple shimmer. Yes, I just compared Maybelline to […]

Leave a Reply

