It’s a galaxy? A mermaid? The Canucks?! Deborah Lippmann – Across the Universe

17 Mar

I don’t really know what else to say. Just let the pictures do the talking.

Deborah Lippman’s Across the Universe. Yes, if there was some way you could translate the universe into nail polish…it’s this. Actually, a more accurate metaphor would be the ocean, what with the green hexagonal glitter. Okay, if a mermaid’s scales exploded on to your nails. That’s it.

I LOVE THIS. Deep blue jelly with small round glitter and large hexagonal glitter, in varying shades of silver, blue, and green. Oh, you know what? This is such a Canucks manicure. The blue and green. It’s like the exact same colours.

I’m just all over the place.

Yeah first coat of this thing was a bit of a let-down. Reeeally sheer and jelly-like. You have to be strategic when applying this – even if the application appears splotchy, try to get the glitters evenly distributed. Somewhat thicker layers helped. All was good after three coats.

Downside: quite expensive. I got this at Murale for around $22. OUCH, goes my wallet. But, I seriously couldn’t resist. It’s freaking fabulous. Just look at the close-up! Gah!

16 Responses to “It’s a galaxy? A mermaid? The Canucks?! Deborah Lippmann – Across the Universe”

  1. Alison March 17, 2011 at 2:49 PM #

    Holy Krap this is crazy amazing! Wish I saw you more so I could see your nails in person and gush in front of you.

    • Gigi March 20, 2011 at 1:44 PM #

      Aw I took it off :( I won’t be wearing it for a long time I’m sure…it takes so freaking long to remove lmao. I’ll be sure to let you know though :p

  2. Sandy March 17, 2011 at 8:12 PM #

    Holy crap that looks awesome! love the colours, and how the glitter bits are diff shapes

    • Gigi March 20, 2011 at 1:43 PM #

      Yes! Sooo pretty!

  3. Jenn March 20, 2011 at 9:33 AM #

    I love this! You won’t need to layer your Russian Blue anymore! :P Such a cool colour :)

    • Gigi March 20, 2011 at 1:43 PM #

      I still love the Revlon Galaxy topcoat though! Livens up a flat creme really beautifully – and it’s way easier to remove. I spent at least half an hour scrubbing the glitter particles off this one! Worth it though :)

  4. Ali March 21, 2011 at 3:29 PM #

    Eternal on Robson (btwn Gap and the Body Shop) sells Lippmann’s for less than Murale/Holt. I got my Across the Universe for $19. When you have a polish addiction, every dollar saved will help to find a loving home for another polish.

    Eternal is also going to start carrying Butter London in a week or so.

    • Gigi March 21, 2011 at 3:36 PM #

      Thank you! You’re certainly right about saving as much money as possible :) maybe I’ll save the polish buying at Muralr for when they do Shoppers optimum points promotions!

      • Ali March 21, 2011 at 5:11 PM #

        Also, I read somewhere else on your blog that Shifeon is overpriced. It IS def over-priced but Essie is cheaper there than Shoppers.

        I find Shoppers really expensive for nail polish/cosmetics. I love the LD clearance bins and the Rexall (in Royal Centre) sales.

        Another local favorite is Secret Nail & Beauty Supply at 1339 Kingsway (btwn Knight & Clark). You pay an annual “membership” fee of $10 and then you get licensed pricing. They have OPI, CND, SpaRitual, Color Club, Princessa, Dare2Wear and others. The prices range from $1.99 to $6.99.

        Of course, heading across the border to Sally’s in Bellingham is usually best.

        (I apologize in advance if I’m making your addiction worse.)

      • Gigi March 21, 2011 at 9:20 PM #

        Shoppers definitely doesn’t have the cheapest stuff, but in the past I’ve seen their Essies go on sale, and that’s when I usually snatch them up! Also, the Optimum points are really attractive. Thanks for the tip though, I’ll prob go to Shifeon the next time I want a new Essie and there isn’t a Shoppers promotion going on.

        I was actually going to check out Secret Nail & Beauty Supply a few weeks ago, but it was a bit out of my way – sounds like a glorious deal though! Definitely going to check it out soon.

        You are definitely making the addiction worse, but I welcome it with open arms. Thanks for all the tips!

  5. Lilian March 21, 2011 at 10:59 PM #

    speaking of the canucks..
    how would you recommend one going about doing her nails during playoffs? colour/polish recommendations? :)

    • Gigi March 21, 2011 at 11:13 PM #

      Hmm…a simple idea would to get a dark blue, green, and white polish and just alternate the colours on your nails! If I was more talented I would attempt the actual logo. But since I’m not, I think a simple design like dark blue background, two white stripes and green down the centre, would be awesome!

      I’m definitely going to try this out come playoff time! I’ve already decided to use Orly’s “La Playa” (dark blue), OPI’s “Jade is the New Black” (green), and I’ve got a white nail art pen lying around :D Great idea!

      • Lilian March 25, 2011 at 12:11 AM #

        thanks for the suggestions!
        but knowing me i’ll be too lazy :(

  6. ginacnwong March 22, 2011 at 6:45 AM #

    OMG SEXY NAILS I love this one. DROOL.

    • Gigi March 25, 2011 at 12:56 AM #

      Definitely one of my fav polishes now. If it weren’t such a bitch to remove I’d wear it ALL. THE. TIME.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Deborah Lippmann – Ruby Red Slippers « the lacquer log - February 14, 2012

    […] Lippmann’s Ruby Red Slippers. Sigh. Doesn’t Deb just do the best glitters? What with Across the Universe and Happy Birthday, I don’t think you can go wrong with a Lippmann glitter. Breaks the bank […]

Leave a Reply

