OPI – Tickle My France-y

10 Mar

Hmm, nudes. I’m not a huge fan of “mannequin” hands – a few months ago I was sort of enamored with the idea of having nails that were exactly the colour of your skin. I’ve learned since then that it’s a hard look to wear, because it requires your nails to be in tiptop condition – every minor cuticle issue just becomes so apparent!

I’ve tried a couple of nudes, and I find that the ones that somewhat blend into the skin, but still offer some contrast, are ideal. Does this one live up to my expectations? Well…

OPI Tickle My France-y, another gem from their 2008 France collection (at this rate I’m going to own every polish in that collection…). I really like it! The shade is just a bit darker than my skin, and the colour is definitely pinker than my skin – the most muted taupe-y pink/lavender you’ll find. It looks elegant and clean, non-fussy but still pretty.

I think the problem I generally have with nudes is that they have a tendency to make you look jaundiced or give you lobster hands. And with a cream nude especially, formula is important – a lot of them can be super streaky and difficult to apply. This one was fine though, two coats and the streaks sort of meld into each other and become smooth again. And of course, you know how much I love the OPI ProWide brush!

Thanks to my friend Justina for letting me know about this colour! I remember asking her several times last term about her nail polish when she had this colour on. I love it! :)

7 Responses to “OPI – Tickle My France-y”

  1. Alison March 10, 2011 at 3:20 PM #

    I am totally afraid of trying a nude polish. Really like the pink-ish-ness of this one though!

  2. Jenn March 11, 2011 at 5:33 AM #

    Ooh, I like this one too! I have Sephora OPI’s Non-Fat Soy Half-Caff, but it’s a little bit darker and pinker than this one, so it’s not a true nude. I love anything to do with France, though, so I’m going to have to check this one out, I think! :)

  3. Karen January 15, 2012 at 3:51 PM #

    Have you tried the Joe Fresh in “Nude”? If so, how does it compare?

    • Gigi February 13, 2012 at 11:25 PM #

      Nope, I haven’t. I’ve looked at a few swatches online though and nude looks like it’s probably a bit less rose-y/mauve-y than Tickle My France-y. I’ll take a closer look the next time I see Joe Fresh polishes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Neutral Ombre! « the lacquer log - March 8, 2012

    […] – OPI’s Tickle My France-y (possibly my favourite […]

  2. Sally Hansen Gem Crush – Big Money « the lacquer log - April 2, 2012

    […] removal easier though, I started with a coat of OPI’s Tickle My France-y (review & swatch here), and used two coats of Big Money. Also, glitters tend to “eat up” top coat , so you […]

  3. Barefoot and Painted at Work « Barefoot Kevin - April 18, 2012

    […] polish. Not wanting to be too flashy, I chose a fairly neutral “nude”, OPI’s “Tickle My France-y”; it goes really well with my skin tone, is not really noticeable, and gives a really nice finished […]

Leave a Reply

