OPI – Just A Little Rösti At This

2 Mar

Can’t believe it’s been a whole week since I’ve posted! I’ve been incredibly busy, sorry about that. And can you believe it, I actually kept the last nail polish on for a whole week…that absolutely never happens for me. I’m happy to report that Essie Chinchilly is super resistant – a full week and not one chip. Even tip wear wasn’t that noticeable! I was kind of sad to remove it – I wasn’t even bored of it yet – but seeing as how I’m going to be really busy this week too, I don’t think I could live with the same polish for 2 straight weeks. So, change it is!

OPI Just A Little Rösti At This, from their Swiss collection last fall, is a surprise favourite of mine. I bought it because of rave reviews I’ve read on other blogs, but thought it was kind of a boring colour. It’s certainly not the most original colour in the world, but it’s just so versatile! It’s just the perfect deep cranberry creme that looks especially red under direct light, but a little brown under weaker lights. Goes with every outfit, and it’s a bit vampy without going overboard (i.e. looking like a black polish from far away). It’s just such a sophisticated colour  – I LOVE it on short nails.

Let me also say that I’m really picky about pink/red/coral polishes. For some reason, I absolutely hate medium bright neutral red cremes. I feel like I’m either kind of slutty or stuck in the 50’s as a pin-up girl – the colour oozes old-fashioned to me, and I try to stick with modern shades for nail polish (another example: I hate frosty nail polish with a FLAMING PASSION). Also, bright pinks. They don’t look bad, they’re just not colours I would ever choose to wear if presented my entire nail polish collection. But somehow Just A Little Rösti At This strikes a perfect balance – this will probably be the closest I’ll get to a red that I truly love.

When I’m stuck in a nail polish rut and absolutely NOTHING from my collection jumps out at me, not even the new ones I just bought, I usually revert back to a few old favourites, and OPI Just A Little Rösti At This is one of them. I always knew I liked this colour, but I guess its status as “all-time favourite” managed to creep up on me! Ah, love. What a strange and wonderful thing.

(Holy crap, how many OPI’s do I own? WAY too many, I’m sure. It doesn’t help that the closest mall to my house happens to sell them for the cheapest price I’ve seen out of every e-tailer and physical store!)

8 Responses to “OPI – Just A Little Rösti At This”

  1. L March 2, 2011 at 12:25 PM #

    Gorgeous!

    • Gigi March 3, 2011 at 1:58 AM #

      It really is! Thanks for stopping by :)

  2. Alison March 2, 2011 at 4:33 PM #

    Wow, I would have never thought of red as being a very versatile colour, but after you mentioned it, I can totally see this shade going well with any outfit!

    • Gigi March 3, 2011 at 1:59 AM #

      And it does! It helps that the colour looks quite a bit darker in real life.

  3. Jenn March 2, 2011 at 5:49 PM #

    So pretty! :) Might be a little too blue on me, but it looks gorgeous on you! :)

    • Gigi March 3, 2011 at 2:01 AM #

      Thank you! The colour is actually quite warm toned (perhaps the camera picked it up funny) and sometimes even looks like a reddish brown. It might work on you!

  4. Ami July 27, 2011 at 3:08 AM #

    I love your blog! I’ve seen some other blogs out there but often felt sad that they’re from the US. Finally I found someone who lives in my hometown!

    Could you tell me which mall carries the cheapest OPI? I want to try that nude shade in your other post but don’t want to dent my wallet buying something that might not work for me.

    • Gigi September 12, 2011 at 11:35 AM #

      Thanks! Yeah it’s frustrating to see gorgeous polishes featured in some blogs that you can’t buy here in Canada! I totally feel your pain.

      Well the cheapest I’ve found OPI is in Brentwood Town Centre in a place called Sparky’z Kutz for Kidz (I know, that name! Haha), for $7.95, or $7.50 each if you buy more than two. There is another place called Secret Nail & Beauty Supply on Kingsway that sells OPIs for $5.99, but you have to pay an annual membership fee of $10. Depending on how much nail polish you buy in a year, that could be totally worth it!

Leave a Reply

