Essie at Shoppers Drug Mart & Chinchilly

23 Feb

I know this is either really nerdy in a nail polish context, or just plain ol’ girly. But I got SO EXCITED yesterday when I walked into Shoppers Drug Mart and discovered they were selling Essie nail polishes. Yes, SDM has been selling Essie’s for a while, but it was always put amongst the other nail polishes and took up a pathetic two racks. Also, the colour range was super boring (though I did get Sexy Divide from it, as well as Sugar Daddy which is probably my all-time favourite sheer pink – that’s for another post), consisting of like four near-identical sheer pinks and more saturated red/pink cremes. Yawn.

But this was different! SDM has the same Essie set-up as Wal-Mart does (at least in the U.S.) after being bought out by L’Oreal around a year ago. The bottles are slightly different – there’s a sticker on the top of the lid that has the shade’s name, a barcode sticker on the lid, as well as a sticker that has the brand name on it. The best part is – there are so many more Essie shades now. There are literally at least 5 times more colours to choose from. I was going NUTS at the Essie rack.

Yes, you can buy Essie’s elsewhere, but only in few salons, and I can’t think of a store that offers this much in colour selection, maybe apart from Shifeon (which is grossly overpriced btw, blech).

Omg! Other exciting thing! Shoppers also has the new Essie collections! I saw A French Affair polishes there as well. Didn’t buy anything from it (almost got Coat Azure but resisted).

Okay now that my obsessing is over, and I’m sure you’ve just skipped the above paragraphs, let’s get on to what I did buy.

Essie Chinchilly. Finally a polish name I actually like. I’d say that it’s almost a true gray with the tiniest bit of taupe. In some lights I see a lavender undertone. In others I see green. So I’m forced to conclude that it’s a neutral gray. When I bought this, I was scared that it would be too similar to OPI You Don’t Know Jacques, which is my favourite dirty taupe colour, but Chinchilly is much lighter and more grey. It is SO pretty. I love how grays are still neutral – won’t get any weird looks from people, but still remains somewhat edgy. And it goes with every outfit! Not that I’ve ever let that stop me from wearing a bright colour that totally clashes.

I love Essie’s. They apply effortlessly (the brush tends to get too much polish though, so wipe it off well before applying!), and dry to such a shiny finish. Sigh. They are $11.99 though, which hurts my wallet a bit. Hopefully the change to carrying more Essie colours doesn’t mean Shoppers will stop doing promotions on them! I always used to buy them when they were discounted to $8.99. Also, strangely the new bottle’s volume is 1.5 ml less than the original one, which was 15ml. Strange.

So, uh, to wrap up, I love Essie, this colour rocks, the thing about Shoppers was the best thing to happen to me all week (kind of sad), the end.

4 Responses to “Essie at Shoppers Drug Mart & Chinchilly”

  1. Jenn February 26, 2011 at 5:39 PM #

    Did you happen to pick these up at a Shopper’s in Toronto? I’ve got one next door to me, but wasn’t able to find any… I’m wondering if I’ll have more luck at a bigger location, like the Eaton Centre! I’m in a gray-taupe loving phase right now :)

    • Gigi February 26, 2011 at 5:49 PM #

      I actually picked these up at a Shoppers in Vancouver (for Vancouverites reading, it was at the Commercial Drive location), but that particular Shoppers happens to be a bigger one. I went to a smaller location nearby my house a few days ago and didn’t see them there either. Keep trying! And gray-taupes are up there with my all-time favourite nail colours!!

  2. Steph August 7, 2011 at 4:10 PM #

    If you’re in Vancouver get them at superstore! I saw them for $9 I think. I went to the one in Richmond on #3 road :)

    • Gigi September 12, 2011 at 11:29 AM #

      Thanks! I recently saw some Essies at London Drugs for around $9 too. So pleased they’re being sold in lots of places now.

Leave a Reply

