Essie – Sexy Divide

16 Feb

If pressed to answer, I think I would say that my favourite colour is purple. It’s such a moody colour, and can look sophisticated and funky at the same time. Needless to say, I LOVE purple nail polish. Essie’s Sexy Divide just brings that love to a whole new level.

Okay, the name? I never understand nail polish names. But the colour! Sexy Divide is a deep purple packed with purple shimmer (or could it be a mix of blue and red?). The result is another one of the polishes that looks sort of like a creme from far away, but positively glows when the light hits it. There are no brush strokes to be seen, and no discernible bits of glitter either. It’s just an absolutely flawless, radiant purple polish.

Formula on this is divine – so smooth and perfect consistency. I got it at Shoppers Drug Mart – wait for the Essie’s to go on sale when you go there. I think they retail for~$11.99CAD but I’ve often found them on sale for $8.99CAD. Unfortunately they don’t sell the new collections, only a dozen or so classic Essie colours, but I’ve already racked up a few! Love.

6 Responses to “Essie – Sexy Divide”

  1. Alison February 16, 2011 at 12:55 PM #

    Oh my. This has got to be the definitive purple nail polish! (until you post another one and I gush over it)

  2. Jenn February 26, 2011 at 5:33 PM #

    This is definitely going on my wish list!!! How do you take your pictures? What’s your camera? I’m looking for a new one so I can take some better makeup and nail shots, and all your pictures and swatches look amazing! :)

    • Gigi February 26, 2011 at 5:46 PM #

      Thank you! I have a regular ol’ point-and-shoot camera, the Sony Cyber-shot DSC-T300. I think the most important thing is even lighting – I typically take my swatch photos directly under a desk lamp (mine has an incandescent bulb), and use the macro function on my camera to pick up the fine details on a close-up. Then the photos go through some editing in Photoshop where I crop, adjust the colours somewhat, and resize. It’s pretty simple!

  3. Elise June 20, 2011 at 9:23 PM #

    This was the first nail polish I purchased myself so needless to say, it holds a special place in my collection. I recently wore it on my nails after a year of ignorance and I fell in love all over again. So interesting to look at! Love her!

    • Gigi July 6, 2011 at 4:37 PM #

      This was one of the first nail polishes I bought myself too! Love the colour soo much.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Essie at Shoppers Drug Mart & Chinchilly « the lacquer log - March 2, 2011

    […] and took up a pathetic two racks. Also, the colour range was super boring (though I did get Sexy Divide from it, as well as Sugar Daddy which is probably my all-time favourite sheer pink – […]

Leave a Reply

