OPI – Louvre Me, Louvre Me Not

9 Feb

Hope you’re having an awesome Wednesday! And not sick like me :( Ended up skipping two classes and went home instead. Sigh.

This polish though, is exquisite.

OPI’s Louvre Me, Louvre Me Not from their Fall 2008 France collection, has quickly made its way into my favourite purple polishes, if not my favourite of all time. Right now as I’m looking down at my nails, it looks like quite a dark neutral purple. But under more bright lights, the polish looks more like a mid-toned very red-tinged purple with tiny blue (or purple?) and pink shimmers. I love these kinds of polishes the most – they’re not so shimmery that they border on frosty and leave behind brush strokes. In low light they almost look like cremes, but in sunlight KA-POW, the shimmer really jumps out. The best way I can describe the look is “glowy” – like the shimmers are lit within. A bit hard to see in the above photo, but trust me on this one! :)

Two coats were needed – application was easy-peasy. And of course, topped off with a top coat.

Ah! I just love this so much! I’ve used Louvre Me, Louvre Me Not so much that you can actually see what level the polish is at – I know that sounds trivial but it’s super rare for me to use up a coloured polish that fast. It’s my go-to purple polish and I always get so many compliments on it. I think it’s because it’s very noticeably purple (not like the inky near-black purples), but muted at the same time. A perfect combination!

3 Responses to “OPI – Louvre Me, Louvre Me Not”

  1. Alison February 9, 2011 at 7:48 PM #

    Love this colour! And I remember you telling me about it years ago, so I KNOW you’ve been loving it for a while =)

    Today they were selling OPI polishes for charity at SFU and I seriously considered buying one (THEY HAD JADE IS THE NEW BLACK!) but thinking about my laziness made me too conflicted to decide. You just wait. A few more of these blog posts and I’ll be a buyer.

    • Gigi February 9, 2011 at 7:56 PM #

      Oooooh! You should’ve bought one! How much were they?

      I guess I should post more then…haha :)

      • Alison February 10, 2011 at 6:42 PM #

        I’m not sure how much they were – they didn’t post prices which makes me think that some shades were more expensive than others. I think she said they were between $7-$9

Leave a Reply

