OPI – Jade is the New Black

4 Feb

Happy Friday! I don’t know about you, but I am exhausted! It’s from all the dinner parties, coffee dates and movie-watching. Did you see The King’s Speech yet? If not, run, do not walk, to the theatre. It’s brilliant, cast was excellent. And Colin Firth was, of course, sigh-worthy. Also went to Dine-Out at Fishworks in North Van – so yummy! Will likely take my mom there for her birthday.

All this happened between Monday and Wednesday, by the way. Somehow I managed to make myself believe that it was the weekend. Too bad I have a midterm and an assignment due next Monday. *sigh* I think I foresaw the horror of the following week and decided to treat myself to an early weekend. Time to start crackin’!

Hopefully things will start to look up with this gorgeous colour, though!

OPI’s Jade is the New Black is from the Spring 2010 Hong Kong Collection (Holla! Home town represent!). Of course I was excited for this collection and what they decided to name them. But as expected, the names are cringe-inducing and horribly cliche. To give you an idea, here are some of the other polishes from that collection: Suzi Says Feng Shui, A Good Mandarin is Hard To Find, Panda-monium Pink, Red My Fortune Cookie, Dim Sum Plum, Chopsticking To My Story, Bling Dynasty. *insert collective groan here*.

There are way more defining characteristics of Hong Kong that could have been used to name nail polish without resorting to general American cliches of Chinese culture. The fortune cookie wasn’t even invented in Hong Kong! I haven’t even eaten a fortune cookie in Hong Kong before! Also, Japanese and Korean people use chopsticks too! What the hell! And Bling Dynasty is just tacky.

Okay. I’m getting irrationally angry about this. Moving on.

I freaking adore this colour. A perfect mid-toned green creme, slightly on the blue side (but not at all teal). Not too bright. It looks so clean on the nail! Average polish turnover for me is 2 days. I had this on for 5 days! I think it might be a record – it’s definitely love.

6 Responses to “OPI – Jade is the New Black”

  1. Sunshine Rose February 4, 2011 at 1:58 PM #

    I love this colour so much. I was the same when I first wore it – I managed to wear it for longer than 3 days lol! And as you said it’s nice to have an actual green without the usual blue tinge to it.

    • Gigi February 4, 2011 at 6:34 PM #

      Oh yeah, I definitely felt OPI took the name “jade” seriously and actually made something very similar to that shade – it’s surprisingly unique!

  2. Alison February 4, 2011 at 2:01 PM #

    This blog is so dangerous. How is it making me care about the way my nails look?

    Will you do my nails for me one day?

    • Gigi February 4, 2011 at 6:34 PM #

      Yes I will!!! You have pretty nails anyway so it’ll be fun :)

  3. ladyruby07 January 14, 2012 at 7:43 AM #

    I bought the “A Good Mandarin is Hard to Find” one. I LOVE the intense orange that it is. I’m really pale with red hair so it looks so warm on me. But I’m so jealous because I wanted this one too. It looks so pretty! But I wasn’t willing to drop another $10USD on it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Canucks Nails! « the lacquer log - June 3, 2011

    […] blogged about the blue and green before – Orly La Playa and OPI Jade is the New Black, respectively. The white stripes were done with the Sally Hansen Nail Art Pen. […]

Leave a Reply

