Holographic Shatter!

31 Jan

Hello again, hope your weekend was swell :)

So if you’ve been reading my previous posts,  you’ll know I was at the kid’s salon looking for OPI Black Shatter. I saw a Katy Perry display but there was none to be found. Worried, I asked the owner if she had any more. Turns out she had stored them elsewhere and said I could only buy it if I also bought another polish. Ha! Like she thinks she can deter me from buying one polish by forcing me to buy another. I was happy to have an excuse to buy one more, thank you very much.

Enter GOSH Holographic. This is one of those rarities that seems to elude you. I have been stalking the GOSH section of Shoppers Drug Mart for months looking for this! To this day I still can’t find it. I had to buy this in Hong Kong for ~$10CAD, and for only 8ml! That’s $1.27/ml. By comparison, an OPI polish is 15ml and costs around $8CAD, or $0.53/ml. Ridiculous.

Nonetheless, I think it was worth it. This polish is NUTS. Look at that crazy holographic rainbow. Even messed up my camera’s focus so everything looks a bit off for some reason. Just…wow. So amazing it probably deserves its own post.

Time to shatter it up!

Hmm. I think the coats I applied were too thin, so the cracks were also thin.  You can’t really see the cool holographic qualities of the GOSH polish underneath. Thicker coats would be better next time.

This works best over polish that is dry to the touch, or else it doesn’t shatter properly. I think this could also be my issue. Check out the cap of the bottle – the shape of the shatter looks much different than what is actually on my nail, which ended up looking like lightning or tree branches. Still cool, but not what I imagined. Also, a top coat is needed over the shatter to protect it. It dries super fast to a matte finish, but is pretty fragile and can chip off easily.

Worth the hype? I think yes. Gives a really cool effect without much effort. Apparently shatter polishes have been around for a while (I wouldn’t know), but the formula of this OPI one is superb. So ladies, if you want it…better act fast! They’re flying off the shelves.

3 Responses to “Holographic Shatter!”

  1. Alison February 1, 2011 at 8:17 PM #

    Holy krap, that GOSH holographic polish is AMAZING! It is like glitter on steroids. You make me want to not be lazy and make my nails pretty.

    • Gigi February 3, 2011 at 11:55 PM #

      You should totally stop being lazy and do it!!!! <3

  2. Jenn February 26, 2011 at 6:00 PM #

    I have to find this. I am a lover of all things silver and sparkly, and this is both of those on steroids!!! <3

Leave a Reply

