Zoya – Crystal

27 Jan

Gah I’ve been so busy lately! Too many assignments! Too many Dine Out dinners! Too many birthday parties!

And yet, I still find time to do manicures…and blog. Well, a girl’s gotta take a break, right? Just agree with me. Or else.

Zoya’s Crystal is from their Fire & Ice collection for Winter 2010 (I keep wanting to call this Charla. I don’t even own Charla). I’ve actually had it for almost 2 weeks but never did a mani with it. I tried it on individual fingers and just didn’t really understand its appeal. I think I’ll stay away from foil/uber-glittery polishes for a while – I’m just never satisfied with how they look on me. I prefer the clean, crisp look that cremes have.

What made me do one this time? I was at the mall today and automatically walked into the children’s barber shop that I buy my nail polish from (I know. I can hear Dora the Explorer in the background as I’m perusing the racks). I was desperately trying to find OPI Black Shatter which is currently out with the Katy Perry collection (review coming up), which luckily I did. I went home a happy shopper.

I like how the shatter effect looks over glitter polishes, so I decided to pull out all my most glittery, girly, bitch-to-remove polishes to test out Black Shatter. Zoya Crystal is one of those polishes. I don’t know. I liked how it looked on my finger today as I was testing out Black Shatter. So I went ahead and did all my fingers.

Okay, that’s a really long story on why I decided upon this colour today. I think I’m subconsciously procrastinating. I’m sorry.

Uh yeah, so…Crystal is a very reflective icy blue with a foil finish. It’s densely packed with blue and gold foil glitter. Let me just reiterate that this is very glittery (not chunky glitter, but pow-pow inyoface sparkle). Applied smoothly, but it was sort of sheer so I attempted thicker layers as I didn’t want to do use over two coats. Ended up rushing application (at this point I only had 2 hours to finish my paper) and it turned out kinda sloppy – though luckily it’s hard to tell from the picture.

This is my first Zoya polish and let’s just say that I’m not that impressed with this one, though I’m excited to try others. Especially now that I’ve found a bricks-and-mortar store in Vancouver that sells them! And for around $6, that’s not bad, even for a polish I’m ‘meh’ about.

EDIT// Change of heart. I checked my nails outside today outside and they look bitchin’. Honestly. I think this looks so crappy under incandescent light (way too glittery and lacking definition, if that makes sense). But under low lighting outdoors, this colour looks wonderful! I can clearly make out the irregularly shaped bits of gold glitter on top of a sea of fine blue foil glitter. It’s like someone spilled molten gold into an ocean (if molten gold floated, that is). Fabulous!

Aaaand I’m not even going to spell check. Have fun reading my typos and run-ons! :) Did it anyway, couldn’t stand it, haha!

2 Responses to “Zoya – Crystal”

  1. cristalleee January 27, 2011 at 12:39 PM #

    I’m debating on trying Black Shatter as well! Except in some photos the effect appears a tad too intense. I guess I’ll wait until you do a review on it before I make my decision!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Zoya – Neeka « the lacquer log - November 7, 2011

    […] but with a lot of visual interest. This is my second Zoya polish – my first being Crystal. You may remember reading that I wasn’t quite impressed with the brand, but this polish […]

Leave a Reply

