Welcome to The Lacquer Log!

19 Jan

For months, I’ve been diligently swatching and taking pictures of nail polishes as I acquire them. I figure having them presented all in one blog might be nice :) This will be where I dump all my nail polish swatches. Well, and the hope is that it’ll provide you with a little useful information.

So, I’ll be honest, I don’t know what else to write for my first post and I’m not an eloquent writer, so rather than pretend like I am, let’s just jump right into it!

The first nail polish to make it on the blog has to be worth it, right? Even though I’ve only gotten it around a week ago, OPI’s Tease-y Does It from their Burlesque collection has fast become one of my favourite polishes of all time. Yes, the name is cringe-inducing, but it’s what I’ve come to expect from OPI.

Well, never mind about the name…look at the magnificent red shimmer! The shimmer is fine, not gritty at all, and definitely does not verge into glitter territory. And look at the brownish plum, almost smoke-y base! It’s so gorgeous. It’s vampy without being goth, edgy while still being quite neutral. I couldn’t stop staring at my nails all day. I even wore it twice in a row – that is unprecedented, y’all.

As with most OPI’s, the formula was fantastic – not too thick or runny, fully opaque in two coats, with an awesome brush. I’ve tried a lot of polishes and the OPI ProWide brushes are still my favourite.

Aha, ideas for future posts: brush comparisons, and perhaps tutorials? Hope I have enough time for all of that…cross your fingers for me!

Oh and special thanks to my good friend Alison for coming up with the blog name – I was seriously considering scrapping this if I couldn’t come with a name soon. <3

3 Responses to “Welcome to The Lacquer Log!”

  1. Alison January 20, 2011 at 10:23 AM #

    I’M SO EXCITED ABOUT THIS BLOG!!! And it’s not even like I <3 nail polish, because lets face it, I'm lazy. I don't know what you mean about not being an eloquent writer girlfriend, your descriptions are lovely. I'll have you know "y'all" is extremely refined in the world of blogging.

    Ah, it'll be nice to have more things to read in the morning! =)

    PS: Thank god you cited me. I was getting ready to sue your ass. =P

  2. Kate's Bookshelf February 1, 2012 at 7:49 PM #

    Wasn’t sure where to put this , but I love your blog a ton, so I’ve given you an award.
    http://katesbookshelf.wordpress.com/2012/02/01/snappy-blog-award-post/

    • Gigi February 13, 2012 at 11:20 PM #

      Katie, thanks so much for your kind words and the award! I appreciate it so much :)

Leave a Reply

