Essie – California Coral

5 Apr

I’m a huge fan of coral. If I had to choose one colour to wear for the rest of my life, I think this would be it. It’s the perfect mix of orange, pink, and red to make such a happy and summer-y hue. I probably own too many coral polishes for one girl (actually, you could cross out the word “coral” and this sentence would still be valid).

Essie’s California Coral. One of the first corals I’ve owned, and one of my favourites. A lot of other ones tend to be too orange or pink. This one has a nice mix of everything, and it’s not so saturated or dark that it veers into one colour or another. It has kind of a strange formula – a creme-jelly hybrid? If you apply sloppily, the colour can appear patchy and darker in some areas. Best to use one thin coat followed with a thicker one to avoid that.

12 Responses to “Essie – California Coral”

  1. Jessica April 5, 2012 at 11:40 AM #

    I love corals too, and this one is so pretty!

    • Gigi April 8, 2012 at 2:27 PM #

      I’ve had this for a while and I keep going back, I love it!

  2. sukipooki April 5, 2012 at 10:41 PM #

    Really pretty and sort of reminds me of Essie’s tart deco, but I think that one is more neon. I’m actually still on the hunt for Essie’s crewd interest ever since I saw it on your blog!

    • Gigi April 8, 2012 at 2:27 PM #

      I wanted to pick up Tart Deco actually! Just from my memory, I think Tart Deco is significantly lighter, but maybe just as saturated. Don’t know if I should get it now, haha :p Hope you find A Crewed Interest, it’s one of my favourites now!

  3. kat April 5, 2012 at 11:46 PM #

    that is beautiful and looks so good on you! i somehow discovered your blog my googling essie chinchilly because i wanted to see some swatches of it and now I’m in love with you blog! you make me want every polish you feature! :)

    • Gigi April 8, 2012 at 2:25 PM #

      Thank you! I’m always happy to hear when people find this little blog useful, haha :)

  4. Diary Of A Phat Kat April 9, 2012 at 12:07 PM #

    Gorgeous color. I love corals! I am going to follow you now after enjoying several of your blog posts. I was recommended by Anita (http://thepftblog.wordpress.com/).

    Feel free to check out my nail posts at http://www.diaryofaphatkat.wordpress.com. cheers!

    • Gigi May 9, 2012 at 12:31 AM #

      Thanks for reading, and thanks Anita for recommending me! I shall definitely check it out :)

  5. colormeehdope1 June 6, 2012 at 10:32 PM #

    This is a beatiful coral! I love essie polish. Formula is super just superb.

    Im new here on the blogging thing.. but have been doing nails for quite some time now. Plz comment and check out my blog. Its very much new so plz bare with mE. Looking for new nail friends. Chao

  6. Polished Pinay August 7, 2012 at 1:24 AM #

    I can’t get enough of coral polish too! Thanks to your beautfiul swatch, I’ll surely get a bottle of California Coral!

  7. NailAddict March 3, 2013 at 3:26 PM #

    I am just a 15 year old girl who loves nail polish (especially Essie). I stumbled across your blog and love it. Your swatches are all so great, I was wondering what top coat you use and with what do you take your pictures on? I can’t wait to see your Spring Collection 2013.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday Favorites | Ali Damron - April 6, 2012

    […] Source […]

Leave a comment