Sally Hansen Gem Crush – Big Money

2 Apr

Of course the name of this polish would be appropriate for me to wear on my grad dinner night – I am a Commerce student after all! I gotta make the big bucks :p

Sally Hansen’s Gem Crush Nail Color in Big Money. I’m not a huge fan of glitters – they’re terrifying to remove and a little too much for everyday wear. I do love this one though! The tiny base glitters  are a neutral gold, almost metallic taupe, interspersed with larger round particles of lavender glitter. It’s one of the more unique and wearable ones I’ve seen, and it’s pretty dense for a glitter polish. Tips: To make removal easier though, I started with a coat of OPI’s Tickle My France-y (review & swatch here), and used two coats of Big Money. Also, glitters tend to “eat up” top coat , so you might want to use two layers of top coat if you want that ultra-glossy smooth finish.

Close-up of the neutral gold + lavender glitters

Bonus – it went with my dress beautifully! (Say hello to my friend Justina on the right – she was integral in persuading me to start this blog, by the way! Justina, don’t hate me for using this photo please :p).

4 Responses to “Sally Hansen Gem Crush – Big Money”

  1. Kristine April 2, 2012 at 11:51 AM #

    I love the polish and your whole outfit! You look amazing!! :)

    • Gigi April 4, 2012 at 3:25 PM #

      Thanks Kristine <3

  2. Jodi Michael Horner April 2, 2012 at 9:29 PM #

    You are so extremely cute! And although I probably won’t wear most of the colors you post (I’m a mom of 4.5 year old twins and just have to keep it practical) I am learning so much from what you describe in the brands, how they apply, techniques you use to make things work. Thank you! P.S. Do you use a top coat always? And what is your favorite brand of top coat?

    • Gigi April 4, 2012 at 3:24 PM #

      Thanks Jodi, I’m glad that I’m helping somebody out! :) Yup I always use a top coat. I love the super-glossy finish, and the fact that it makes me manicure last longer and also dry faster. My favourite is probably Seche Vite, but I also love Nails Inc.’s Kensington Caviar, Mavala’s Mavadry, and Essie’s Good-to-Go!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 233 other followers

